January 8, 2010

  • Middle of the night at work, and needing some comfort and peace I seem to find lacking in my soul of late. I decided to listen to some music on my iPod, and find an old favorite album; Mysteries of the Deep.  It is a soundtrack from the Monterey Bay Aquarium, music you hear while in the Outter Bay Exhibit.  Music inspired by the calm ebb and flow of the tide and waves. 

    I bought this album back in January 2001, visiting the aquarium with a friend, my first boyfriend I guess.  We were kinda in a phase of parting ways by then, but that day still remains of my my favorite memories in life.  It was a clear winter day, I believe it was Superbowl Sunday. So, to avoid the football mania of the day, we thought a trip to the aquarium would be a good way to spend this Sunday.  Lunch at Bubba Gumps, stroll along Canery Row, and a long tour through the aquarium. 

    The outter bay exhibit was amazing and I found such calm in the deeper water blue light that filled the viewing room.  I am always calmed in blue light.  But the music, the sea creatures swiming with calm, and company of a friend, I was in a moment, if not, a day, of complete peace and comfort. 

    Everytime I listen to these tracks I drift back to that day, and how perfect it felt.  I had some pictures from that day, but I seem to have long ago lost them.  But my mind still recalls it very well.

    I’m recalling it all now, and also thinking how much has changed since then, how much continues to change.  All the people, the friends that have rolled in and out of my life since then.  I feel like things are in flux right now, feeling the next shift in life, and needing some familiar comfort.  More good days have come and gone, and more are yet to come, but for now, I need to cling to some of my memories, and know I’ve been really happy, and really at peace, and will again find all of this in days ahead.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *